Home > Misc > XP to Vista upgrade woes

XP to Vista upgrade woes

So I tried to upgrade to Vista Ultimate from XP SP3 several times during the weekend, only to be thwarted each time.  I know, I know, I should be installing Win7 RC instead, you say.  Except that there’s no direct upgrade from XP and I didn’t want to have to pave the laptop since it is my primary machine.

The error I received was

Windows could not update the computer’s boot configuration. Installation cannot proceed.

Unfortunately, the suggested fix, or taking ownership of all files in root, didn’t work. So, I’m presently at a loss. Maybe I’ll give it another try over the upcoming weekend.

Categories: Misc
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

